The Light Newsletter


Upcoming Events

Click on the links below for details.

International Service Meeting
Feb 27, 2023
7:15 AM - 8:30 AM
NEW LOCATION-Feb 28 meeting
Feb 28, 2023
7:00 AM – 8:30 AM
Club Mtg: Developing Solutions for Climate Change
Feb 28, 2023 7:30 AM
NU Rotaract Art Auction - Alice Millar Chapel
Alice Millar Chapel
Mar 01, 2023
6:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Mar 07, 2023
Club Service Committee - Zoom
Mar 08, 2023
8:30 AM - 9:30 AM
RYLA Camp-March Session
Mar 09, 2023 – Mar 12, 2023
Club Meeting: RI President Jennifer Jones
Mar 09, 2023 12:00 PM
Prepare Sack Lunches for the Homeless
First United Methodist Church
Mar 10, 2023 5:17 PM
Community Service Committee
Mar 13, 2023 7:31 PM
View entire list
Advertisement for Russell Hampton
Advertisement for ClubRunner
Advertisement for ClubRunner Mobile

 February 9, 2023

                                 By Neil Gambow

President Kathy Tate-Bradish called the meeting to order at 7:30 a.m. on the dot with the ringing of the bell and read the Land acknowledgment. She also thanked our “Zoom” team, Steve Goranson, and Bruce Baumberger for their work keeping us online. 
Bruce Baumberger - read “Why We Are Rotarians,” followed by the thoughts for the day quote from John Lewis: 
“Though I may not be here with you. I urge you to answer the highest calling of your heart and stand up for what you truly believe.  In my life. I've done all I can to demonstrate that the way of peace, the way of love and non-violence is the more excellent way.  Now it is your turn to let freedom ring.  When historians pick up
their pens to write the story of the 21st Century, let them say that it was your generation who laid down the  heavy burdens of hate at last and that peace finally triumphed over violence, aggression, and war. 
So I say to you. Walk off the wind, brothers and sisters. and let the spirit of peace and the power of everlasting love be your guide.”
Ann Searles – Sunshine report
  • Horton Kellog is doing well and would love to hear from our club members by phone.
  • Ira Graham- says hi to all of us. 
  • Mike Merdinger – Welcome back!!  Glad to see you!
Kathy Tate Bradish – The fund-raising letter campaign raised $8,835. 
She suggested that anyone who has not donated yet might at least donate the amount
they would have spent on the Holiday Sale goods.

Roasts & Boasts

Marv Edelstein – Boasted Kathy Tate-Bradish for attending as many committee meetings as she has during her presidency. 
Program: Club Business
Vote on proposed bylaw changes distributed to club members on December 8.
A motion to accept the bylaws changes was made by Bruce Baumberger and seconded by Brian.  A robust discussion transpired and it was decided to postpone the vote on the bylaw changes and vote only for approving board positions for the DEI Chair and the Environmental Action Chair.  
Bruce Baumberger withdrew his bylaws motion and a motion was made by Kathy Tate-Bradish and seconded by Susan Prout to add the DIEI Chair and the Environmental Action Chair to the Board.  The vote was 32 for and 5 against.  Motion carried. 
Vote for the slate of officers for 2023-24
A motion was made by Bryant Wallace and seconded by Marv Edelstein to approve the submitted slate board members for 2023-24.  The vote was a unanimous “yes”.
  • President Elect - Jose Lopez 
  • Career Service Chair - Neil Gambow
  • Club Secretary - Linda Gerber
  • Club Treasurer - Kate Collinson
  • Club Foundation Treasurer - Don Gwinn
  • Club Service Chair - Joan Borg
  • Community Service Chair - Brien Johnson
  • Diversity, Equity, Inclusion Chair - Clarence Weaver
  • Environmental Action Chair - Steve Goranson
  • Grants Advisor - Bruce Baumberger
  • Housing Chair - Ann Weatherhead
  • Fundraising Chair - John Osterlund
  • International Service Chair - Jose Lopez
  • Membership Chair - Nick Powers 
  • Program Chair - Dan Coyne 
  • Public Image Chair - Aimee Resnick
  • Rotary Foundation Chair -Helen Oloroso
  • Technology Coordinator -Jeff Snyder
  • Young Leaders - Keith Banks
Thank you to the following Co-Chairs:  Georgia Vlahos will Co-Chair the Programs Committee to assist the Programs Chair, Dan Coyne, Charlotta Koppanyi will Co-Chair the Young Leaders Committee to assist Committee Chair Keith Banks, Katherine Peterson will Co-Chair the Membership Committee to assist Membership Committee Chair Nick Powers, Kathy Tate-Bradish will Co-Chair the International Service Committee assisting ISC Chair Jose Lopez, Linda Gerber who will Co-Chair the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee to assist Committee Chair Clarence Weaver.
Special thanks to: Bruce Baumberger, who will renew his role as Grants Advisor, Jackie Mack, who will serve as Youth Exchange Officer, Nick Powers, who will once again serve as Sergeant at Arms. 
Please join the Nominating Committee (Bryant Wallace, Yves Lassere, Dan Coyne, Marisa Naujokas, Kate Collinson and Linda Gerber) in welcoming the new Leadership Team for Rotary Year 2023-24, (beginning July 1, 2023), a powerful, diverse, and inclusive team of our newest and youngest members along with our most seasoned and experienced. All are passionate ambassadors for Rotary, committed to collaborative service alongside our community partners here at home and around the world.  
Guests and Milestones
Joanna Green – Prospective Member 
Jane Jones - Rotary Member, Club xxx, yyy place
Birthday This Week 
Myra Janus, Dec. 23
Please add to your safe sender list or address book.
To view our privacy policy, click here.
102-2060 Winston Park Drive, Oakville, ON, L6H 5R7